Announcement and Concert Review: Kingsmen Quartet (McDonough, GA)

by Diana Brantley | August 30, 2018 3:31 PM

I’ve saved this review for a little while so that I could hopefully include the announcement of Alan Kendall’s selection as the new baritone for the Kingsmen! And I’m very glad to say that I can now release this post!

The Ole Country Church was the venue for this concert on August 10th! The Kingsmen appeared and brought with them their brand new lead singer, Chris Bryant, as well as Georgia boy, Alan Kendall who was performing during his very first weekend with them. In case you aren’t familiar with Alan, he sang lead for the Melody Boys Quartet and for the last couple of years he has been singing as a soloist and as the lead singer for Jordan’s Bridge. He has also been promoting some wonderful concerts at his home church, McConnell Memorial Baptist Church in Hiawassee, Georgia. Alan has now been named as the new Kingsmen baritone!!

This lineup that included returning tenor Chris Jenkins and hall-of-famer Ray Dean Reese was met with enthusiasm from the full auditorium of southern gospel fans. Since both Randy Crawford and Bob Sellers are gone, Chris Jenkins has taken over the emcee duties and he did a great job!

The sound of this lineup seemed much fuller and richer to me with the different voices. The program included a great combo of classic and new songs from their latest album, “They Don’t Know.” I was surprised that a lineup this new also performed a very slow, a capella song – The Old Ship of Zion.

Videos:  I already released two of the following videos from this concert on a previous “First Look” post when Chris Bryant was named as the new lead singer. I’ve added a few more here so you can hear from this brand new complete lineup.

I would post more videos from this wonderful concert, but I have to save some for later! I plan to see the Kingsmen again at a Georgia concert in September.

Here[6] is a link to the Kingsmen press release.

Like this:

  1. Battle Cry:
  2. Hear the Word of the Lord:
  3. I Will Rise Up From My Grave:
  4. When I Wake Up To Sleep No More:
  5. Oh, Yes, I Am:
  6. Here:

Source URL: