CD Rated: Melody Boys (Destination Heaven)

RATING: 3 1/2 Stars

Producer: Nick Bruno

Song Titles: “All Aboard We’re Glory Bound,” “Little By Little,” “Oh Broken Heart,” “The Stone Was Rolled Away,” “The Lamb He Died To Save,” “Come To The Water,” “Sinners Plea,” “Lonesome Road,” “Glory Bound,” “Give Me Jesus,” “I’ve Made It Home,” and “Heaven, The Place Of My Dreams”

Analysis In A Nutshell: I’d just about given up on the Melody Boys after reviewing their lackluster 2007 Christmas CD. I’m pleased to be able to say they’re getting back on the right track with Destination Heaven. Nick Bruno’s production touch has elevated the quality of their tracks and with changes at tenor and lead, this combination of Melody Boys has a better blend than last year’s. Destination Heaven isn’t a high-budget CD, but more attention has been given to the elements of music production that matter most. Several familiar quartet classics like “Sinners Plea” and “Lonesome Road” are offered along with more recently composed songs by writers like Rebecca Peck and Dianne Wilkinson. Neil Enloe’s “Give Me Jesus” is particularly nice.

Warning: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable in /nfs/c10/h10/mnt/141983/domains/ on line 7
Category CD Reviews

David Bruce Murray

David Bruce Murray is a church music director in Ellenboro, NC. He is the author of Murray's Encyclopedia Of Southern Gospel Music and the owner of both and David plays piano for Southern Sounds Quartet and the Foothills Community Choir.

MusicScribe Comments

We love comments
No Comments Yet! You can be first to comment on this article!

Tell us what you think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.